WAMC/3.83/510 - 1st gen, not sure what to do!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chicanapremed

Reaction score
Hi everyone. I'm so excited to have found a forum like this! Any advice would be so appreciated.

I graduated a year ago, and was planning to apply this cycle - but now I'm weighing the decision to either apply this cycle or to wait another year. Why? I'm not sure I'm a strong enough candidate yet. I am confident in my grades, but not confident in the experiences I have. I'm the first in my family to attempt this, so I don't have a lot of people to ask for help. Trying to do my own research, but it seems like getting into medical school is quite a mystery.

1. cGPA and sGPA as calculated by AMCAS or AACOMAS
    1. BCPM 3.75, AO 3.95, Total 3.82
  2. MCAT score(s) and breakdown. Include all (non-voided) attempts.
    1. Have not taken one yet, but 510 is the highest score on a practice FL
  3. State of residence or country of citizenship (if non-US)
    1. CA
  4. Ethnicity and/or race
    1. Hispanic
  5. Undergraduate institution or category
    1. Loyola Marymount University
  6. Clinical experience (volunteer and non-volunteer)
    1. UCLA Care Extender (250 hrs)
  7. Research experience and productivity
    1. Comparative anatomy, research at La Brea Tar Pits, presented at SVP (international convention) in Canada (300hrs)
  8. Shadowing experience and specialties represented
    1. No shadowing, another weak point I'm worried about :(
  9. Non-clinical volunteering
    1. Service Organization w/ school, different organizations around LA (150 hrs)
  10. Other extracurricular activities (including athletics, military service, gap year activities, leadership, teaching, etc)
    1. Camp leader for a STEM Camp for girls in grades 4-6 in hometown (1 wk long)
    2. Swim Instructor for 5+ years
    3. TA for general biology lab (2yrs)
    4. TA for Comparative Anatomy lab (1 semester)