WAMC 509/3.5

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kylem33098

Reaction score
1. cGPA = 3.2 and sGPA = 3.5
2. MCAT score = 509 (128,126,127,128)
3. Massachusetts resident
4. White Male
5. Large southern undergrad university
6. I have a lot of clinical experience, I worked on an established critical care team focusing on complex respiratory conditions. Our team is paged by the ICU team to assess their patient. I worked alongside a post-doc fellow during these assessments. We were extremely active during the COVID-19 pandemic where no one really knew what was going on with this patients and what ventilator parameters were best.
7. I focused heavily on research at a top-5 research hospital in the country. I have three first author publications as well as as one second author and two mid authors for a total of 6 publications. I have also had multiple abstracts and posters presentations. I am also currently running a phase 3 clinical trial in the ICU.
8. I have ample shadowing experience. I have shadowed Anesthesiologist in the operating room / ICU, neonatologist in the NICU, emergency medicine physicians in the emergency department and a family medicine physician.
9. I have non-clinical volunteering as both a sunday school teacher and an assistant youth soccer coach.
10. I am an avid soccer player and have run a marathon in which I had to raise $7,500 for COVID-19 emergency response.

11. I think it's important to mention that all though my GPA is not good and MCAT is below par, I do have an upward GPA trend. I graduated my undergrad as a Business major and did not complete any science pre-reqs until I completed my post-bacc program. I am aware my stats aren't great but I do hope that my research / clinical / shadowing experience as well being a non-traditional can help me during the application.