MD WAMC? 518 MCAT, 3.81 GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hoosierpride99

Reaction score
Hello! This is my first time posting in SDN. I’ll be applying this upcoming cycle and I have been an Indiana resident my whole life. I am very interested in pediatrics.

1. cGPA: 3.81 (science GPA probably a bit higher)
  2. MCAT score: 518 (131/128/130/129)
  3. State of residence: Indiana
  4. Ethnicity: White (also female)
  5. Undergraduate institution: top 10
  6. Clinical experience: I volunteered at an ER for 1 year before covid hit (about 120 hours) and will be starting volunteering at a clinic next month so I will have 6 more months by the time I apply
  7. Research experience: at application I will have 2 years of “psych” research at the same lab (but I work with blood and measuring levels of different chemicals so not traditional psych- not sure if that matters) about 360 hours so far
  8. Shadowing experience and specialties represented: 70 hours- orthopedic surgery, pediatric infectious disease at Cinci Children’s, outpatient general pediatrics, and OB/GYN
  9. Non-clinical volunteering: I am the president of a club that I joined freshman year where we collect the leftover food from the dining halls and distribute it to food insecure people in my community. I don’t even know how to count up all the hours honestly haha, probably 200. I am also trying to start volunteering at a group home for kids that have failed foster placements.
  10. Other extracurricular activities: this past quarter I had a virtual internship in Guatemala that worked on educational equity for indigenous children (100 hours), study abroad ambassador (very few hours, like 25 over 2 years), peer tutor (80 hours), a part of a religious organization
  11. Relevant honors or awards: the club I am president of received an award for impact in social justice.
    My school list so far:
  12. Indiana University