WAMC and school list suggestions, 3.82/508

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

slaystem

Reaction score
I am applying to only MD schools this cycle and know I have a weaker app and lower stats; I fully realize there is a strong chance I'll end up having to take a gap year and I've planned for that, but I appreciate any feedback and suggestions!
  1. cGPA 3.83 sGPA 3.77
  2. MCAT 508, unbalanced :( (123/128/129/128)
  3. Indiana resident, ties to Pennsylvania and Louisiana)
  4. White female
  5. Undergrad at Purdue; double major in genetics and health&disease, certificate in medical humanities
  6. Clinical experience: ~1000 hours working as a scribe in the hospitalist department and ED; I am a trainer in both departments, and I am the Lead of the hospitalist scribes, meaning I oversee the training, auditing, and scheduling of 30 scribes and serve as a line of communication between the doctors and scribes
  7. No research
  8. Shadowing: 50 hours: 10 hours Family Medicine, 10 hours ED, 10 hours GI, 20 hours nephrology, trying to do OB soon
  9. Non-clinical volunteering: 50 hours driving for Meals on Wheels, 100 hours volunteering on the fundraising committee of my school's dance marathon, helping to educate dance marathon participants about raising money for Riley Children's Hospital
  10. Other extracurricular activities: I play violin a little?
  11. Relevant honors or awards: Dean's list and semester honors all semesters
  12. School list so far: IU, Albany, CMUCOM, Drexel, QCOM, Loyola, Rush, State University of NY Upstate, Tulane, U Illinois, and Wake Forest
I am not from a medically underserved area but I do work in one, and my personal statement has a lot to do with advocating for patients in such areas, especially those that cannot advocate for themselves as I live in an area with a large linguistically isolated population and have seen the ways providers treat those patients differently.