WAMC? First time applicant c/o 2028

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dogdoor12

Hopefullabvet
Reaction score
Hello! I've been stalking this thread for about two years now, but it's coming time for me to apply and I'm starting to get very nervous. Curious about what everyone things.

20 y/o M, traditional, NC resident. Double major in animal science and chemistry.

My primary interests are small animal.

Overall GPA: 3.5
Last 45: 3.8
Science GPA: 3.6

Veterinary experience:
-3100 hours as an assistant at a SA GP
-55 hours as an assistant at a SA ER (opportunity halted due to COVID, I had to quit due to family concerns)
-20 hours as an assistant at a SA spay and neuter clinic (currently involved with this, estimated 100 hours at time of application submission)

Animal experience:

- 1080 hours fostering cats through two different rescue organizations
- 20 hours at a large animal internship focused on rescue work and husbandry (opportunity halted due to COVID, same situation as the ER)
- 150 hours of dog training and sports (I compete with my own dog in dock diving, trained her to earn her canine good citizen, etc)
- 20 hours of large animal experience through a reproductive physiology class
- 20 hours of large animal experience through an animal nutrition lab
- 30 hours of large animal experience through a small ruminant management lab
- 30 hours of pet sitting
- 50 hours of exotic animals fostering

Research:
- 850 hours with one lab in college, currently employed by them, worked directly with live mice for the majority of this. 4 abstracts (1 first author, 3 third) and 1 poster presentation. Hours will be 1250-1500 by the time of application.
- 44 hours helping with a swine feed trial study, worked directly with pigs
- 75 hours on a research proposal relating to studying harm reduction methods in a European country