WAMC, first time applicant

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mcoco1

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am a first time applicant from California. I graduated in 2020 and I currently work at a biotech start up because I was trying to decide if I like research more, but I definitely am more interested in veterinary school. I am more interested in exotics/ maybe going into disease research later on? I have a small amount of veterinary experience, but I just got a volunteer position at a local hospital to add more hours. I'm kinda thinking about just applying to a lot of schools in hopes that I get into at least one. Any thoughts/advice is much appreciated!

Cumulative GPA: 3.29
science GPA: 3.22
last 45: 3.73

Graduated in 2020 with a degree in biology

GRE results:
157/153/4.0 (I know a lot of schools don't require anymore, just thought I would put in case)

Veterinary Experience:
-~150 hours at a small animal hospital
-
-

Animal Experience:
-300 hours as an animal care intern at a local zoo
-150 hours doing research on chytrid fungus on frogs at same zoo
-

Research Experience:
-150 hours doing behavioral research on sun bears at same zoo
-Working as a research associate studying Parkinson's disease

Awards/scholarships:
-dean's list x4 my last 4 semesters
-college lacrosse team captain
-

Extracurriculars:
-played D3 lacrosse
-member of sorority
-member of pre-health students association

Employment:
-childcare for a summer
-veterinary assistant
-research associate

Members don't see this ad.