WAMC + School List? 3.95 sGPA, 523 MCAT, 3.65 cGPA. Non-trad software eng. w/ unique background

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

j_diggity

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I'm looking for some advice about my chances and especially on coming up with a school list. I have no idea which schools to apply to besides the few I have listed already (in a comment below), due to my MCAT/GPA combo. I'm a non-traditional student, with 6 years experience as a software engineer before making the switch to medicine. I just finished a career-changer postbac program where I did all my science prereqs.

GPA: 3.65 cGPA, 3.95 sGPA, 3.98 postbac GPA
MCAT:
523 (132/129/130/132)
State of Residence: Illinois (with Texas ties - lived there 7 years and my family lives there now, consider it "home," would love to go back)
Race: Caucasian
Undergrad: UT Austin. Postbac at WashU
Background: Disadvantaged, grew up very poor by US standards w/ family income <$25,000, public housing, food stamps, food insecurity. FAP recipient so not too worried about cost of applying to a lot of schools. However, I'm not SES disadvantaged according to AMCAS due to dad's educational level and occupation.
Clinical Experience:
  • ~950 hours as an EMT doing IFT transfers, 911 calls, and first aid.
  • ~150 hours clinical volunteering at a children's hospital, blankets and popsicles kind of thing
  • ~200 hours as a volunteer medical assistant at a free clinic
Research:
  • 200-300 hours from very recently starting (earlier this year) a clinical research assistant job at an ER. Zero potential for publications out of this, not too worried about it. Don't think I'll pursue any other research during my application year.
Shadowing:
  • ~50 hours shadowing in a major city's ER
  • ~30 hours shadowing a psychiatrist
Non-clinical:
  • Meals on Wheels - 250 hours
  • Member of a national community service organization - 150 hours