WAMC

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

agunn01

Reaction score
Hello all,
I am wondering if anyone would be willing to give me an advice, tips, words of encouragement, etc.
I am a 24 year old undergrad student with one year left after this semester ends. I plan to apply to vet school possible next year. My current GPA is 3.66, but after this semester I am estimating a 3.46 (I am really struggling with gen chem 1 and am sitting at a C). I only have a few more classes left to take, (organic chem, biochem, and physics). I have not yet taken the GRE. I am currently searching for a tutor for chem, as I know it will only get more difficult from here.
As far as experience, I have worked with or around animals for my entire life. My mother was a director of a local shelter, so I was always helping her out when I was young (is that acceptable as experience?). I shadowed a veterinarian this summer, and plan to do so over winter break, as well as next summer. I am a registered foster for cats. I have a personal horse farm, rabbit farm, and own ducks (as well as many other typical pets such as cats, dogs, birds, etc.) I just recently joined the Pre-Vet club at my school, as well as an agriculture honor society.
My school of choice is University of Illinois, and I am worried my gpa will not be competitive enough. Also, does "fundamentals of ____" chemistry courses count as being high enough level (still 200-300 level courses, but not considered general).
Any recommendations on what else I should be doing to prepare?

Members don't see this ad.