Wavering between a JD and a MSW...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

seabreeze7

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! :)

I've discovered this forum very recently and I am very glad to find a place where others are going through similar situations as I am.

I graduated a few years ago from NYU (undergraduate) and since then, I have worked at the UN, HIV/AIDS prevention centers and various law agencies. Currently, I am in the midst of the law school application process. Although I am still waiting for other admissions decisions to arrive, I have already been accepted into Notre Dame. So, basically, I know I can go into a decent law school by next fall if I choose to. :confused:

However, since I've started my law school application process, a part of me is resisting the career of law. I truly want a profession where I can help other people, but at the same time, I don't want to deal with the stress and the tremendous loads of paperwork. I don't think I can be happy if I have no life outside of my career. :scared:

Some of my supervisors at the HIV/AIDS prevention center suggested me to look into becoming a therapist. I did and I find it to be a great fit. So, in addition to my law school applications, I've also submitted my MSW applications.

As I now wait for decisions from both law schools and MSW programs, I have some questions that I would like to ask. While I do want to choose a profession that can help other people, money is still a factor I must consider.:( I need to be realistic especially after the accumulation of all my student loans. Thus, if possible, I would greatly appreciate it if there's anyone here who is able to answer them for me. Much thanks in advance!