Weighing the pros and cons of which path to pursue...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

southpawcannon

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Had tons of views on this but no one in the ortho surgery forum has responded. So, maybe one of my fellow non-trads here will have some input...

I currently work as an athletic trainer for a hospital, working with the high school kids. I enjoy being around them, seeing how much an influence we adults can have on their lives. Yet, I still have an interest in pursuing medicine, likely orthopedics(maybe pediatric) or family medicine with a sports medicine specialty. How involved can a physician of either type be with showing up at the school, attending practices and games, etc? It's pretty important that my presence is felt with the community I serve, anywhere from talking to the kids, parents, coaches to even hanging out with them as they do their therapy and such. I have a passion for learning, especially with all the areas of medicine, but can't see myself being in the clinic only all the time. I feel that I will always be an athletic trainer at heart even as a physician because of my love for sports. I suppose my next question is how much time would said physician have outside of the practice to pursue personal interests as well as having a family life? I'm a non-trad with about a year's left to finish my pre-reqs, so this questions come to mind as I am about to make a decision on a path and stick with it. I'm 29 and currently single, btw.

Gracias

Members don't see this ad.

I think you definitely can do this. I just saw an orthopedic surgeon who had tons of hockey team pics all over his office wall. Apparently he also is the team physician for a natl. hockey team.

...I still have an interest in pursuing medicine, likely orthopedics(maybe pediatric) or family medicine with a sports medicine specialty...