Well, here goes

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Macktasty

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I'm contemplating medical school. I'm 24 years old, and am a graduate of Penn State. I dual majored in economics and health policy. My gpa is an abysmal 2.7. I am wondering if there is any course of action that can be taken to go to medical school.

I have a good amount of volunteer experience, but not any shadowing or clinical. I worked in Hospital of UPenn for a summer running a volunteer program. Currently, I work as a health care advocate. I work with a team of doctors and nurses to help our members get care. I also ran a charity at Pen State that raised $3000 for an African orphanage.

I'm in the early stages of researching here but I believe this is what I want to do.

Is it possible to get into a postbac with my lower GPA? Is entering a postbac something that can help (provided I dominate the classes) in getting me admitted to medschool? Or should I just take the pre-reqs at a community college and work from there.
Assuming strong MCAT scores, is this feasible?

Just trying to get some feedback from the community here.. Any guidance would be appreciated

Members don't see this ad.

So, I'm contemplating medical school. I'm 24 years old, and am a graduate of Penn State. I dual majored in economics and health policy. My gpa is an abysmal 2.7. I am wondering if there is any course of action that can be taken to go to medical school.

I have a good amount of volunteer experience, but not any shadowing or clinical. I worked in Hospital of UPenn for a summer running a volunteer program. Currently, I work as a health care advocate. I work with a team of doctors and nurses to help our members get care. I also ran a charity at Pen State that raised $3000 for an African orphanage.

I'm in the early stages of researching here but I believe this is what I want to do.