What Are My Chances at Psych Residency?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Psychapplicant133

Reaction score
Hello,

I am a third year medical student interested in psych and I’m looking for some advice on my application overall. Here’s basically a quick CV, please let me know if you see anything or have any ideas:

Grades:
-Honored Psych and Honors in Peds. No other honors unfortunately but all my comments are fortunately very positive
-MS2 grades made me eligible for jr AOA but did not receive it

Test Scores:
-Passed step 1 on first attempt, step 2 coming up, assuming I will score probably 240 or so

Research:
-double digit current publications in pubmed, most are low tier

Extra Curricular:
-VP of interest group unrelated but adjacent to psych
-Volunteered at local homeless shelter
-Paid medical school tutor for MS1s for one year
-EMT in undergrad
-Volunteered in a local prison in med school

Letters of Rec:
-No aways but I have my letters all from home institution, 2 psych and 1 a research mentor

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
This seems like a humble brag? Like the Facebook doctor posts about retirement planning where they’ve got million/year income, 7 million net worth, 23 investment properties, and they’re 42 years old…am I going to be ok in retirement?

Reactions: 1 users
This seems like a humble brag? Like the Facebook doctor posts about retirement planning where they’ve got million/year income, 7 million net worth, 23 investment properties, and they’re 42 years old…am I going to be ok in retirement?
I was afraid of someone thinking this but I’m actually asking since by all accounts you need to show a genuine interest in psych, and I’m worried that all I got going for me is some random ec’s and research