What are my chances for dental school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bschoi1991

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I am applying to dental school for the first time. I am currently an active duty soldier in the US Army (will be ending my service before the 2021 class starts). I am super anxious about my chances and wanted some feedback. Thank you all for your time!

Date of submission: 6/26/2020
Overall GPA: 3.35
Science GPA: 3.45
Bio-Chem-Physics GPA: 3.55
Postbacc GPA: 4.00
DAT score (include AA and all sections): 24AA/23PAT/23QR/26RC/23Bio/26GC/23OC/24TS
State of Residence: Maryland. (Permanent address is California)

Undergrad Attended: University of California, San Diego (graudated in 2014)
Major: Biotechnology
Minor: None
Minority? No
Reapplicant? No
Nontrad? Yes (military)

Shadowing Experience: 200 hours at a local dental office
Volunteering Experience: None other than dental shadowing
Employment: US Army and a biotech. company
Research: Worked as a research associate at a biotech company for about 2 years. No publications.
Other Extracurriculars: Military for the last 4 years working in a hospital for the last 2
Relevant Honors or Awards: Several military awards
LOR type and strength: 3 from professors at a CC (biology, anatomy, physics), 1 from dentist, moderate
Misc Info/Things not stated elsewhere: .
School list: Columbia, USC, Indiana, Loma Linda, Midwester-IL, NYU, Roseman, Iowa, Touro, UBuffalo, UCLA, UCSF, UIChicago, UMaryland, UNLV, UNewEngland, WesternU, Rutgers, Stony Brook