Medical What are my chances of getting into a medical school?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tantacles

Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello SDN,

I have been stressing because of this and I saw that SDN is a huge resource for prospective medical students so I couldn't think of anywhere better to ask for some advice.

I'm not a traditional applicant- I graduated in 2019 and started working at a job not in my field. I am still currently employed there but I am planning on switching jobs to something in healthcare. I am hoping to take on a full-time job as a medical scribe until matriculation.

In terms of metrics, I have a 3.77 GPA with a 510 MCAT score (C/P 128, B/B 128, CARS 124, P/S 130)

I have:
about 600 volunteer hours including clinical/nonclinical
about 45 hours of teaching (as an instructional assistant for a philosophy course)
about 100 hours of shadowing
about 120 hours of clinical employment (working at university infirmary)
I'll be volunteering at least 500 hours as an EMT in the next few months.

I've applied to 19 schools:
Albany Medical College
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Boston University School of Medicine
Chicago Medical School at Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine & Science
Eastern Virginia Medical School
Emory University School of Medicine
Frank H. Netter MD School of Medicine at Quinnipiac University
George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences
Georgetown University School of Medicine
Keck School of Medicine of University of Southern California
NYU Grossman School of Medicine
NYU Long Island School of Medicine
State University of New York - Downstate Medical Center College of Medicine
Tufts University School of Medicine
UCLA/Drew
UC - Davis
UC- Irvine
University of Connecticut School of Medicine
University of Massachusettes Medical School