What are my chances of VA-Allopathic - HELP PLEASE

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gwupremed

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
My overall GPA is/will be ~3.65 my Science GPA is ~3.4 (I got Bs in Gen Chem, B- in Phys I and C+ in orgo I but I retook Orgo I and got an A-). I am a Bio major with a minor in religion. I have straight As in all my Biology classes however.

I havent taken the MCAT yet but Im really nervous

My ECs are Dance Team (outside of school), private tutoring, one club i started with my firends to hep the homeless and I had a leadership in it but it was disbanded after one year (should i include that in the app), some clubs but no leadership, peer advisor, undergrad TA for Histology lab. My only clinical experience are my jobs i worked as a Medical Assistant for 3 different urgent cares for a period of 2.5 years

However I did WORK ALOT through all 4 years of undergrad to pay off my student loans. I also held a managerial position at one of my jobs (does that count as leadership?)

Some explanatory stuff: I commuted to and from school all 4 years (school was ~45 miles away, I took public transport which took me 1-1.5 hrs one way) This took away from school involvement opportunities for me . My uncle passed away during my sophomore year and I have 2 Withdrawals as a results (In BIO and Physics II).

I want to apply this summer (end of my senior year). I am in the process of starting an chapter for Unite for Sight at my school (have submitted the application and been accepted to do so). I am also planning on working full time with 2 jobs during the gap year and I have applied to AMERICORP as well for the gap year.

I know this is a lot of INFO but any help you could give me would be great!

Im sure I stand out but in which way..not sure?

Als

Members don't see this ad.