what are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drugPorter

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I got my college in degree in chemical engineering from Yale with a pretty low UGPA (3.1), went on to do a PhD in biomedical engineering at Yale and am currently nearing completion. I got Honors in all 10 graduate courses I took in the PhD program (Yale grades graduate courses using a Honors/High Pass/Pass/Fail system), volunteered in the hospital and shadowed a physician. As an undergrad, I cofounded a journal, sang in a choir, did community service, and published 3 papers (2 first authorships). I've published another 3 as a PhD student and presented my work at several conferences. I took the MCAT recently and scored a 42S.
Am I competitive enough? If so, where?

Members don't see this ad.

serious response:

this would be better received in the pre-allo "what are my chances?" thread. that's where most of the other forehead-slappingly stupid posts end up.

care bear response:

yes, you will be competitive at most schools. your undergrad GPA will hurt you a little bit, but your graduate work will go a long way to offset those numbers. as long as your BCPM is at least above a 3.1 (hopefully higher?) you should be in good shape. at this point, focus heavily on writing a great PS, and get plenty of people to look over it. last, don't make the mistake that other people with high grades and high MCATs make - apply broadly.

geez, if you thought my post was "head-slappingly silly", why did you even bother to give a response?
to be honest, i find such pretentiousness disgusting. i'm a newbie to these forums; and i would not have posted in this section had i not seen similar postings below.

Members don't see this ad :)
geez, if you thought my post was "head-slappingly silly", why did you even bother to give a response?