What are your thoughts on the X-Tip intraosseous anesthesia delivery system?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mauricio45

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Sometimes I have trouble with achieving profound anesthesia on a hot mandibular molar with irreversible pulpitis. I was looking at the X-Tip system from Dentsply. Anyone have experience with it? Do they work well and is it worth the price? Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

x-tip. I use it once a year.
Recommend refining your mandibular block skills.

Members don't see this ad :)
Sometimes I have trouble with achieving profound anesthesia on a hot mandibular molar with irreversible pulpitis. I was looking at the X-Tip system from Dentsply. Anyone have experience with it? Do they work well and is it worth the price? Thanks.

Intra osseous injections definitely come in handy for hot teeth. As an Endo resident, I see a ton of hot mandibular molars. There are times when IAN/buccal infiltrations/PDL and even intrapulpal injections won't achieve profound anesthesia. At that point, I go to the intra osseous. The Xtip is okay in my opinion, but removing the sleeve that stays in the bone is a major challenge sometimes and requires a lot of force which can scare the patient. I prefer the stabident product which only includes a perforator and the short needle. After you make the perforation with the slow speed, you have to line up the short needle to the exact angle the perforator when in at and it will slip right in the hole in the cortical bone. Back pressure is what you are looking for. It's a great sign that the IO is going to work for you. Lidocaine and carbocaine are acceptable to use. If using epi, warn the patient about tachycardia.