What can I do to be more competitive?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drwasabi

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I am interested in Radiation Oncology, but I am not the most competitive student. My grades are average, however my Step 1 was decent (99). I was wondering if my grades make me a very long shot to get into a rad onc residency, or if my board score might buffer them a little and there are other things I can do to make me more competitive. I am currently a third year student. Thank you very much for any advice.

Members don't see this ad.

drwasabi said:
Hello, I am interested in Radiation Oncology, but I am not the most competitive student. My grades are average, however my Step 1 was decent (99). I was wondering if my grades make me a very long shot to get into a rad onc residency, or if my board score might buffer them a little and there are other things I can do to make me more competitive. I am currently a third year student. Thank you very much for any advice.
it depends. basic sci grades? No biggie really. Clinical grades? that's a bigger deal. check out the faq.

drwasabi said:

if you call a 99 step 1 score decent, i would like to know what average is...an A minus?

Members don't see this ad :)
sorry didn't mean to sound like that, it just seems like that score IS average on this board.
i am currently in my 3rd year, working hard to do well. trying to get a publication in by next month (not in rad onc though). i really do like this field a lot; if i wasn't in medicine i think i would have pursued physics. thank you for your advice, i appreciate it.

dont worry about your grades, they are in the past.

do away clinical rotations, work hard, pump out some research, and impress the folks at your home institution. just keep going full speed ahead. dont let things keep you down...and stay focused. oh, and do forget to keep your fingers crossed.