what can one do with an MD/MBA?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

turquoiseblue

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have an MBA and an MD. What can I do with it...what types of jobs are out there for people with little outside experience? I have done some residency. Can I just go out and run a hospital? I really don't know what I got myself into.

Thanks very much.

Members don't see this ad.

I have an MBA and an MD. What can I do with it...what types of jobs are out there for people with little outside experience? I have done some residency. Can I just go out and run a hospital? I really don't know what I got myself into.

Thanks very much.

my experience post-mba was that there are certain jobs and industries that you cannot enter (absent a relative in the industry) without an MBA. Think management consulting associate, I-banking associate, something in venture capital.

Another approach, more similar to the one I took, is to start a firm. No one can then advise you how many years you need to work nights & weekends before you can move up the next rung in the ladder.

I'm pretty new to medicine, but have spoken with a number of physician executives about their paths given my business background -- to move up the ranks at one very large, well regarded physician/insurance firm in my area, you must first prove clinical excellence for a handful of years.

Absent a relative who is very well connected, there's no chance you'll complete an MD/MBA and be offered a job running a fair sized hospital. Maybe if you relocate to a small town and agree to take clinical and administrative duties you'd be able to be further up the chain?

So the choices are likely either start as a ground-level physician, or start as a ground-level management person which would likely pay less than an entry level physician role, and work your way up over 5-10 years.