What counts as a science professor for a LoR?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted925864

Sorry if this is an obvious question, but I was wondering if letters of recommendation from any science professor count or if it has to be a BCP professor? I'm majoring in environmental science so most of the professors I know well are envs professors. All of the BCP classes I've taken are large lectures, so I don't really have any personal connections with any of these professors.

I also have a professor that is very highly regarded in his field; would a LoR from him carry more weight than one from a prof that may know me a little better who is less recognizable?

Members don't see this ad.

I used LOR from my Biochem professor, my physics professor and my math professor. The first two for science, and the math professor's LOR counted as non-science or humanity. Appearntly math is not scientific enough for dental schools.

So, you can use the LOR of the professor who knows you to satisfy the non-science Lor that many schools require or recommend.

So, you would think environmental science would count as a non-science/humanity? Biochem and physics both fall under the BCP category so I can definitely see why they count, and I know environmental sciences are considered in the sGPA.

Members don't see this ad :)
So, you would think environmental science would count as a non-science/humanity? Biochem and physics both fall under the BCP category so I can definitely see why they count, and I know environmental sciences are considered in the sGPA.

For the GPA, Math is considered part of the other science; they might have the same policy for the Environmental science courses, but for the LOR, many schools want specifically from a Physics professor, biology professor, or a chemistry professor for the "Science LOR"
The non science or humanity LOR is satisfied by any other field.