What do I do with my LORs? I don't want them to be outdated

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gladiolus23

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I got all my LORs last year when I was planning to apply. However, I decided to take a gap year and figured my letters would be okay since they were within the year. Unexpectedly, I now have to take two gap years (I am not applying this cycle anymore). Now, I'm worried because my letters, which are all very strong, will be outdated by next cycle. To make things worse, I graduated so I'm scared I'll lose contact with my professors. I was suggested to explain the situation to them now and ask my recommenders to update the letters with next cycle's date in advance. Can I do this? If not, what is the alternative?

I don't want them to look at my letters next cycle to update them with a new date only to realize that they no longer feel the same way about me as they did when they wrote the LOR. Then, they might change the LOR and make it weak since they don't know me as well anymore :( any advice?

Also, I haven't yet told my recommenders that I'm taking another gap year. They all think I'm applying this year and are very confident I'll get in. How do I break this news to them? Is there a chance they will think lowly of me for taking another year just to apply?

Members don't see this ad.

If you are still doing stuff with your letter writers, why would you use your extra gap year to lessen their opinion of you instead of improving?

If you are not still doing stuff with your letter writers, 1) why is someone with whom you no longer interact the best endorsement you can get 2) how is this writer's opinion current when the date on it is a year out from when the associated activity ended and 3) where are contacts from your current activities?