What do you find gross?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Perfbird

Rat Wrangler
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Alright, so I have to ask this question because I find a few things disgusting that as a vet I'll have to be doing/working with daily, and I'm hoping I'll be able to get used to those nasties! If you have any tips for getting over myself in these situations, please suggest them, also please share some things that you find utterly disgusting.

EARS. Having to do ear cleanings makes me want to vomit. There's something about the smell and the sight of the earwax/blood/disgusting stuff that makes me gag every time, I can't help it. I can't hold my breath because the sight still makes me want to hurl. I also hate the eye goopies, but I can handle those with a towel or with gloves on.

Cat poop - this isn't too bad, but it's bad enough that I try and avoid going by cat kennels if at all possible. It's one of the worst smells on Earth to me, and I've done fecals for many, many species at the zoo so my nose has been around the block a few times as far as poo goes.

Anyone else?

Members don't see this ad.

my vet only does laser surgery and i hate that burnt flesh smell... i think of Fritos (the chips) to get my mind off of it and amazingly it works. I guess since fritos have a similar smell, i dunno... maybe just in my mind haha its so weird. But i love the chips so it keeps me at ease. its almost like i actually tricked myself into believing im just in a room with someone eating fritos. now the gagging feeling has stopped when i assist!!!

the smell of the afterbirth when infusing cattle!!! and it lingers.

Members don't see this ad :)
Maggots are gross.