what do you think?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FeetforLife

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I have just sent in my application to the California school, NY school, and Scholl. I was hoping to get some feedback on the "chances" I might have to gain admission to any of these schools. I graduated just this summer from the University of California Irvine with BS in Biology (obviously). I wish I could say that I am fully confident with my statistics but due to personal circumstances my GPA does not represent my academic competency. Understanding the reality of the situation, I have done as much as I can to compensate for the shortage in this admission factor by being proactive with leadership, extracurricular activities, healthcare experience, etc. I will be taking the MCAT very soon, and already know this is important in proving to the admissions commitees of ability. Podiatry has been the profession I have decided on with my whole heart. It is not a back up like I see it is for some unfortunately :(..so I really do hope I gain admission to one of three schools at least. To the point here are my stats in a small nutshell...I also included a snippet of my personal statement ("why do you want to be a podiatrist") to give you a better feel for where I am coming from....

science: 2.7
overall: 2.6
mcat: scheduled

extra curricular:
(healthcare experience)
-shave biopsies, curettage and electrodessication, incision and drainage, excision, process pathology, etc. I have been trained to perform toenail clippings for fungal cultures and PAS stains to rule out onychomycosis as well.
-shadowing podiatry students at hospital
-shadowing podiatrist at private practice

(on campus)
-several healthcare clubs
-greek system
-writer for newsletter