What does it take to avoid burnout?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

priorities2

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a student in a BSN program and planning to go back for a psychiatric-mental health nurse practitioner degree relatively soon after graduation. I want to be an outpatient psych NP as my end goal. Everyone seems to be warning me about burnout... my mom thinks I should be a nurse anesthetist since they make such good money and don't need to deal with difficult emotional issues.

I'm really interested in mental health though. What personal traits would you say it takes to avoid burning out as a mental health provider?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I'm currently a student in a BSN program and planning to go back for a psychiatric-mental health nurse practitioner degree relatively soon after graduation. I want to be an outpatient psych NP as my end goal. Everyone seems to be warning me about burnout... my mom thinks I should be a nurse anesthetist since they make such good money and don't need to deal with difficult emotional issues.

I'm really interested in mental health though. What personal traits would you say it takes to avoid burn out as a mental health provider?

Be emotionally mature and stable and have a real passion for the work. Natural empathy, etc.

Be emotionally mature and stable and have a real passion for the work. Natural empathy, etc.

Wouldn't that go with any career? I'd say good time management and leaving most of your work at work and try to keep your home life as separate as possible.

Members don't see this ad :)
Wouldn't that go with any career? .

not really. Have you been to the DMV before? And I dont know too many empathic wall street bankers...

Reactions: 1 user
Wouldn't that go with any career? I'd say good time management and leaving most of your work at work and try to keep your home life as separate as possible.