What exactly do 3rd and 4th year medical school students do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jtimmer1

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know that I am only a college freshman, but I cannot help to wonder about medical school life. I know that the first two years of medical school consist of rigorous classwork. I have heard different things from different sources, but on average it seems that it is the equivalent to 30 credit hours worth of undergraduate classwork. So, I have the concept of what the first two years of medical school is like.

My question is as follows: what are the internship years like? Besides being in the hospital for a vast amount of time, what else do these medical students do? Must they write papers on certain things that they have encountered, or is it just an experience that medical schools feel their student need before they initiate residency? I suppose, simply, after two years of constant coursework, do medical students just jump right in to "practice" without having to do any more formal schoolwork?

Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Shadowing half the time, the other half filling out templates (history or physical, soap notes) and talking about them for a little while to the team, often presenting the intern/resident's ideas as your own.

First off, don't go comparing M1 and M2 year to college with credit hours. That doesn't really work; it's true you sit in lecture a lot, but it's not like undergrad unless you mean 30 cr/semester M1/M2. That my equal the amount of work.

I've had to make powerpoint presentations about specific topics or case presentations on rotations. Do brief presentations for the team over lunch on a journal article, etc.

There are exams in just about every 3rd year rotation, and some rotations had tons of busy work like essays and group stuff.