What is Disadvantaged?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pr0foundbsguy

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm just a little confused by the AMCA's definition of it, but here's my story, you can then vote if it is actually fitting of the status or not.

I lived in a rural village in India for 12 years before I immigrated to the United States. The nearest hospital was 30 miles away and we only had two doctors serving the entire village of 6,000 some people. When my parents immigrated here, they were working two jobs each and continued to do so until about I graduated from High School four years ago. I also started working at 14 to help support the family.

But when I look back it all, I still think we were pretty blessed with many things and I know there are people out there much worse off than myself. So I don't feel right in checking that box, thats why I just wanted to get other's input on it.

Members don't see this ad.

The methodology for determining if someone is "disadvantaged" is fairly cut and dry. The primary factor is your parents' yearly income and total savings/investments. There are other factors, including your race, but your parents income and savings/investments always seems to be the primary deciding factor.

The methodology for determining if someone is "disadvantaged" is fairly cut and dry. The primary factor is your parents' yearly income and total savings/investments. There are other factors, including your race, but your parents income and savings/investments always seems to be the primary deciding factor.

Interesting, I didn't know income and savings played a big role (I assumed it was mainly race). In that case, I may actually qualify...

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm just a little confused by the AMCA's definition of it, but here's my story, you can then vote if it is actually fitting of the status or not.