What is the difference between an "A" student and a "B" student?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pharmtobe123

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I am a 3rd year prepharmacy student and I'm really frustrated. I just can't seem to figure out what am I doing wrong. So I just got my final grades and here it follows: B, B, B, B+. I am not trolling or trying to act conceited because I know it's B's and there's nothing wrong with that, but what is concerning me is that after 40 credit hours my GPA is only a 3.1!

Literally I only have 2 A's on my transcript: one in statistics and one in English. Everything else is straight (B-,B, and B+'s) With the exception of organic (and labs) which I C's in.

It just seems so hard for me to push my GPA up since most of my grades are B's. I mean how are you guys acing your classes with A's?

I don't have a set routine where I study, I do procrastinate at times but try to do well but just can't make the A's.

Members don't see this ad.

I don't have a set routine where I study,

That's the problem.

In my experience in tutoring a lot of students, (Even ones that ended up getting As in difficult coursework, absolutely), the biggest single difference between someone who gets solid B/B+ grades vs. a solid A/A- grade is how they continually study through the week, a little at a time.

Say someone's taking Chemistry w/ LAB, Calculus, A&P and Micro. This is not a wholly unreasonable semester/quarter and has happened a lot. The B student, all other things held equal (e.g., experience in biology and chemistry and math prior to these courses, etc) will study less than the A student. The B student will likely go home after lecture and piddle around, might glance at the notes, but really will only study a few days before an expected exam or quiz unless another reason presents itself to do so.