What is your opinions of nurse anesthetists? This guy wrote an e-mail to a doc

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

axlaxl1

Ram Ventilation
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Saying, verbatim, Hi, I am a nurse Nurse Anesthetist and I do the same thing as a doctor but they get paid a little more money than me. As well, he stated making 175K. Then he went into the degree he had and all it was is a BA in nursing and a master's degree in anesthesiology.

What seems crazy about the whole thing is that it is true. I actually really feel bad for doctors on this one. What in the world is a person who has about 10 years less training and experience doing with a salary that is basically equivilant to a doctors. 1000'sK less debt and more time actually in the field doing the job.

Seems totally outta wack. What do you all think? oh, P.S. this was an e-mail sent to a girlfriend of mine that was on Match.com

Members don't see this ad.

Well, if somebody with less education can perform what doctors perform, then that's great. That saves lots of time for the job operator and money for patients. But I doubt nurse anesthetists can do everything of what doctor anesthetists do (It seems that they are just doing what they are told to do by doctors because nurses with very little medical knowledge cannot diagnosis patients).

Gas guys dont make 175k or anywhere near it, or if they do a NA doesnt make near that, in that same region.

Members don't see this ad :)
Well, if somebody with less education can perform what doctors perform, then that's great. That saves lots of time for the job operator and money for patients.

you're a premed? Because if that is the case, I think there a lots of "jobs" that people could do with training and nothing else. I mean, why did I even have to take this darned MCAT?

Gas guys dont make 175k or anywhere near it, or if they do a NA doesnt make near that, in that same region.