• Pharmacy Job Market Webinar

Are you considering applying to pharmacy school but are concerned about job prospects when you graduate? Join us on Wednesday, July 28th at 8 PM Eastern to hear from three PharmDs about their experiences and options outside of retail pharmacy.

Rbrav

15+ Year Member
Aug 28, 2004
Status (Visible)
  1. Resident [Any Field]
Hello. I'm a 3rd-year med student pretty darn sure I want to do pathology. I have to set up my 4th-year schedule soon, and I want to take a month off to interview at residency programs. When do most residencies hold interviews? If it matters, I'll mostly be applying to programs in the southeast US. Thanks!

Circumflex

10+ Year Member
Mar 7, 2006
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
November and December are the busiest for interviews, but they can start in October and extend into January. It depends on when your application is complete (all of the components submitted/uploaded to ERAS) and the dates that the different programs hold interviews. Get your letters of rec. in early - the sooner your application is complete, the sooner you get invites, and can schedule your interviews.

moodydoc

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Sep 6, 2006
Status (Visible)
  1. Resident [Any Field]
I thought it was good to shoot for the middle of the interview season. As my advisor put it: too early and you are fogotten, too late the program has already decided.

I also found that if you arrange it between Thanksgiving and Christmas you can end up with a huge amount of time off.

About the Ads

DarksideAllstar

you can pay me in bud
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Dec 17, 2001
West of the Haight
Status (Visible)
  1. Resident [Any Field]