What OT setting do you work in?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jessjlstar

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all!

I am trying to get a feel for all the various settings that I can work in as an occupational therapist. I just was hoping you'd share with me the setting that you work in (or have done a fieldwork in), a summary of what you do in the setting, and your opinion on the setting.

Thanks!

P.S. "A Day in the Life" would be FANTASTIC. :D

Members don't see this ad.

There are many settings that you can work in. It really depends what your interest is in! I would try and get exposure to your interests to gain a better perspective on what you like and don't like. I'm a 3rd year student so this is something I am really looking into because I am graduating in May.

Personally for me I enjoy Pediatrics the best. The settings you can work in are schools, inpatient/outpatient hospitals/clinics, and private practice more or less. Pediatrics have different focuses in terms of how we look at the child holistically. For example, the occupation of a child is school and play. I enjoy helping children be able to function more independently in a school setting. If you like adults/geriatrics their occupations are different than children. I currently work with children right now so I may have a bias haha.