What questions to expect during interview

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sinnet

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Guys this is my first time post here. I want to know what questions to expect during an interview, although I'm still waiting for an invitation. I'm quite worried about this interview process because I'm not very articulate. The interviewers may not follow what I talk about or I may not answer their questions convincingly. I don't want to look like a below average candidate from the interviewer's standpoint.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks :)

Members don't see this ad.

Go over your CAF/CV and personal statement and be prepared to talk about interesting points in greater detail.

If there was anything "concerning" in your academic transcript then make sure you have a ready answer - not too long, not too short. You want to come across like you've done your best about it - and not dig your own grave.

Mostly they want to know about you, why pathology and what your career goals are. If you have any research background, be prepared to discuss that too.

Again, fit is what they are looking for.

Some might quiz you on actual pathology, or ask you what was the most interesting case you saw on your path electives. Don't freak out about this, they will not be expecting much of medical students. Certainly don't make this a reason to read Robbins cover-to-cover - you will have time during residency for that.

Those are a few things I can think of off the top of my head.

Also, you might consider a "practice" interview if you don't have much interview experience. It sounds a little obsessive-compulsive, but I was very glad I did two (with very different interviewers). I looked a complete ass but at least it helped me figure out what to expect.

deschutes touched on this topic quite well.