What should I do? Physics and orgo

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

coolcucumber91

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a sophomore and this fall I'm taking 14 credits including organic chemistry 1. I'm taking it easy this semester because I didn't do so well last year (I took chemistry and biology) so I'm trying to get all As (I did get all As in the summer tho :cool:). So that means I'm taking organic 2 and physics 1 in the spring. But my question is, should I just take physics 1 this semester? Will I still be able to take the MCAT early and apply early if I take only organic chemistry this semester? Sorry if this is a dumb question

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a sophomore and this fall I'm taking 14 credits including organic chemistry 1. I'm taking it easy this semester because I didn't do so well last year (I took chemistry and biology) so I'm trying to get all As (I did get all As in the summer tho :cool:). So that means I'm taking organic 2 and physics 1 in the spring. But my question is, should I just take physics 1 this semester? Will I still be able to take the MCAT early and apply early if I take only organic chemistry this semester? Sorry if this is a dumb question

You won't be prepared for the MCAT if you only take orgo this term.
If you're adamant on taking only orgo this term, I recommend what I did:
Take physics 1/2 over the summer after your sophomore year, so, then, you'll have your pre-reqs done before junior year, are able to study for the MCAT/take MCAT courses and can apply early.

Best of luck.

You don't need to take physics next semester. Take it in the spring, take physics 2 next summer or junior fall. Then you'll have a semester to study for the MCAT, which I would recommend you take in March or April of junior year. Don't take a super heavy course load until you're confident your grades won't drop. :)

Members don't see this ad :)