What should I do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dnovelta

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a freshman at UC Davis. Just finished my second quarter, and unfortunately I think I bombed Chem 2B (the second of 3 general chemistry courses). I'm fairly certain that my other classes (math and philosophy) turned out fine, it's just this chemistry score that is very worrying.

I got a B- in Chem 2A, in case you wished to know this.

I'm only guessing here, but I believe I got somewhere around a C- or lower in 2B, the final scores have yet to be released so I can't say for sure.

My question is, if I get a C-, should I stick with it, or request for a lower grade so I can retake the class. I won't go into why I got the C- because frankly, I know I can do better.

I'm so nervous about this because I've wanted to be a doctor for as long as I can remember.

Seeing as I'm only a freshman, I've yet to accumulate the experience of formally shadowing a doctor.

Also, for what it's worth here is some background about me and medicine.

As a Sophomore in high school I shadowed a vascular surgeon from NYU. He was a fullbright scholar and we were living in Yaounde, Cameroon. He was able to take me on rounds once. Some time later (maybe a month or so) he was able to get me into watch a surgery, up close.

After those experiences I wrote an article about the medical care in Cameroon and was published in the US State Department magazine "State Magazine". It was the 2006 December issue, the article was title "The Price of Life". I'd provide a link to it, but the State Dept. has taken the webpage down, so I can't download it for myself either, although when I do apply to medical school I'd be able to get a hard copy to send in as we've got some at home.

Not sure if the last few bits are entirely relevant, but I suppose it shows my true interest in medicine.

What should I do in regards to my assumed C-?