PerspectiveDoc

Removed
Oct 29, 2010
Status
I graduated from college with a 2.3 GPA from UMD 1.5 years ago and I am now very interested in becoming a doctor. (I never studied in college :oops:)

Since my GPA is really really low should I do a formal post-bacc or should I do an informal post-bacc -- meaning go back to undergrad and get another degree (2.5 years to attain this)?

I have read really good things about formal post-bacc @ Goucher. But since my GPA is so low I most likely will not be admitted to their program. What can I do to get accepted to their program?

What route do I need to take that will maximize my chances to get into medical school?

jslo85

Resident
7+ Year Member
Jan 27, 2010
Chicago
Status
Resident [Any Field]
Honestly, you won't be able to do anything realistically to be accepted into Goucher. That goes for Scrippts, JHU, Bryn Mawr, UConn, Mills, UPenn, UVA or Columbia. Though the last three would be easier than the first five, your GPA is far below what most formal programs would be willing to look at. If you had to go to a formal program, I'd take a look at HES or perhaps SFSU.

I would just do the informal post-bacc at a local 4 year university and use the extra time that you have to start building your CV while prepping for the MCAT. The slight upside to your situation is your sGPA is nonexistent right now so you do start from a clean slate in that regard. I really can't stress how important it is for you to obtain a 3.5+ in the medical pre-reqs and obtaining a solid MCAT score especially in your scenario.

robflanker

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Feb 17, 2009
Status
Resident [Any Field]
forget penn with that gpa.

informal program is your only hope at this point

DrMidlife

has an opinion
10+ Year Member
Oct 30, 2006
Status
Resident [Any Field]

sideways

Removed
Aug 8, 2009
Status
Medical Student
Retake your classes. Get A's. Do well on MCAT. Apply DO.

DrMidlife

has an opinion
10+ Year Member
Oct 30, 2006
Status