Medical What should myPlan B be (assuming no II's this cycle)?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBoneDoctah

Volunteer Staff
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
As of now, I have not received a II from any of the 33 schools to which I applied in July and August. I am now figuring out my plan B in the event I do not receive any interview invites. I really enjoy computational and synthetic chemistry research and was thinking about applying to several Chemistry PhD programs. I majored in chemistry and my chemistry GPA is a 3.95 and my science GPA is a 3.9. Since the GRE is optional this cycle and I could easily repurpose my AMCAS personal statement for the PhD application, I was wondering: will graduate schools see redundancy in my PhD application if I reuse my personal statement from AMCAS (i.e. are there people on the board of both the medical school and graduate school admission committees for a particular school that will see this redundancy)? I only applied to MD programs--not MD-PhD programs--in AMCAS.
I am confused? Are you completely done with medicine if you don't get in the first time?

Members don't see this ad.

I am interested in being a pathologist and having a lab where I can conduct biochemistry/molecular biology research. I know that I do not want to only do research and cannot see myself 100% invested in being a practicing doctor without conducting research. I would rather start a graduate program next year than a masters or some gap year program where I feel like whatever I am doing is to boost my application for my re-application to medical school, the admission to which is not even close to being a given. I hope that does not come off as being pretentious or arrogant. I just know that I want to do research in my career and also practice and that the path to medical school is not one-way.
MD schools do not count graduate GPAs due to grade inflation.

What's your MCAT score? What are your ECs?