what to do during gap year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sweetsaja

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a junior in attending a private oos university in the midwest. I was an excellent student in high school, but my grades suffered my first two years in college. Junior year my grades have improved and realistically I know I can get about a 3.5 for the next three semesters. My GPA by the time I graduate will be about 3.3. I've already completed all my premed requirements w/mostly A's or B's except a c- in calc 2 and c in chem 2. i have a w in ochem not b/c i was failing...and when i took it later i got an A in it. I'm a double major in Biology and Psychology. I haven't taken the MCAT yet, but I'm planning on taking it early next spring or during my gap year.

i have no research experience or work experience, but i do have some volunteer experience and am involved in extracurriculars.

I will be moving to long island, ny for a year. I want to do something productive during that time to help my gpa. Does anyone know of any year long post-bacc or masters programs such as public health or biomedical sciences that I could do in that area (nyc, newark, etc)? All the post-bacc programs that I'm finding are for people who haven't completed their science pre med classes and are not "record enhancers"

After my gap year, I am open to moving almost anywhere in the US, preferably the midwest. Where would be the best places to apply? Or, would you recommend that after my gap year, I take more time off and maybe get a masters and become a resident of a state where there are many med schools and then apply to med school?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks!!

Members don't see this ad.