What to do next?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

surfdoc

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I will be graduating this December(2002) with a B.S. in community health education. I have decided I want to go to an osteopathic med school. I haven't started any of the pre-med requirements. My question is: 1) Should I go and just do the pre-med classes or 2) Would it look better and help my chances of geting into med school if I completed a graduate degree-an MPH( which I wouldn't mind doing) along with the pre-med requirements.Any advice and help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Hey! only do the m.p.h. if you're interested and really think you'll use it. I decided to get one done in my year off and am just getting burned out - it was very interesting and useful at first, but now the stuff is just very repetitive (people who had it for undergrad are killin themselves). i would say just take the pre-med courses necessary, and get your C.H.E.S. certification to show your commitment to the field. If you want your m.p.h. you can always get that later, or combine it into a shortened d.o./m.p.h. degree

oh, i forgot to mention - i don't think it helped my admission at all but that's bc i didn't start the program until after i sent int my application.

Members don't see this ad :)
I wouldn't do a MPH while taking premed classes. I did my MPH and couldn't imagine doing all those science classes with it. Plus you want to do one thing well at a time. The work load will be WAY too much! You may want to try Post back programs where you may have extra premed support and could get funnelled into their med school if you do well. Good luck to you!