what to do?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by Su4n2, Aug 27, 2002.

1. Su4n2

Su4n2 Senior Member

i graduated last may, but want to take biochem and molec bio of developement to send to med schools in january. but if i don't get in and have to reapply again, how do i classify these courses? they are undergrad. thanx.

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Tweetie_bird

I am not sure why you're looking to get it done by Jan. You have until the day you matriculate to finish your requirements. So technically, you have almost a year to do all that.

I would classify that a post bac. Anything AFTER you get your major is called post bac.

4. Su4n2

Su4n2 Senior Member

the reason i want to get it done by jan is so that i can send it to med schools and hopefully improve my chances (which are slim) this application cycle. thanx for the info in case i don't get in. do the postbac science courses combine with the BCMP gpa to give overall gpa or is it seperate? this class is at the undergrad school that i went to, it is not graduate nor is it part of the official program. thanx.

p.s btw, thanx tweetiefor always looking out for us MCAT kiddies!

5. Green912

Attending Physician
    Good luck on your application. If you don't get in then the two classes will be considered Post-Bacc and will be listed separately with their own GPA on the AMCAS app.

6. Tweetie_bird

no probs! I like looking out for the MCAT kids. :)

so about the post bac--you're in good shape if you take it at your old univ. I took an EMT class at a CC AFTER I got my degree, and listed it as "post bac" on my AMCAS. So, in short, I had a "post bac GPA" and also my undergrad GPA went up because *I THINK* (look into it) it got included into the Under Grad GPA also.

7. Adcadet

Adcadet Long way from Gate 27

Resident [Any Field]