What Track Ought I Take to Combine My Interests Into One Medical Career

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LaVe

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all, I'm currently a Freshman Undergrad, Biology and Psychology double major on a Pre-Med track.

I currently have plans to do a cross-country transfer to a CUNY (Hunter) because of the awesome low tuition they have for a Neuroscience major (NeuroSci is my main passion) after my sophomore year. I'm very interested in their BioTechnology major as well, and will probably double with that, I probably won't finish in 4years but who does these days?

My question is, if I want to integrate applied medicine and biotechnology research (concentrating in neuroscience), what path ought I take?

Is combining this many elements into one medical career (research, application, and technology) even reasonable?

Also - I've been receiving mixed messages on this: if I am going to medical school and with an interest in neuroscience, should I pursue neurology or neurosurgery if I want to do research? (I'm currently shadowing a neurosurgeon, and his work is amazing but I have no idea how that career would ever have room for any serious research, but the fact that he gets to essentially carry out the treatment hands-on seems more rewarding- to me atleast- than applying a diagnosis)

I know it seems like I'm biting off a lot here, I've been shadowing doctors and am very realistic about the workload I'm setting myself up for, but I just don't feel as though I would be fully satisfied by doing only one aspect. I know that this is definitely what I want to dedicate myself to, I just don't exactly know the steps to get there.

Members don't see this ad.

First of all, there are plenty of good resources here you can use to help guide you on path to medical school, including which and how many extracurricular things to do, ways
to approach the MCAT, etc...