What were your student loans and how long did it take you to pay them off?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

juniordentist

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Trying to get an idea of what is achievable

Members don't see this ad.

It all depends on your approach. Do you want to save up for retirement while paying them off, or throw all extra money towards it?
I graduated in 2016 with 512k in loans and was on track to pay them off after 5 and a half years, but I decided to go back to specialize. I ended up saving up for living expenses instead of doing loans and started residency with 270k left and then took out more loans for residency. I'm back up to 525k now, but I don't know if I want to attack them as aggressively as I did before residency. I'll probably save up for retirement and do a 7-8 year loan payoff this time around.

Reactions: 4 users
Members don't see this ad :)
120-125K coming out of dental school (in-state), no loans for peds residency since it was a paid program. Took advantage of the the interest freeze during the covid and decided to go all in on paying it. Paid off in about 1.5 years.

Reactions: 2 users
120-125K coming out of dental school (in-state), no loans for peds residency since it was a paid program. Took advantage of the the interest freeze during the covid and decided to go all in on paying it. Paid off in about 1.5 years.
That's incredible! It's good to know dental school can still be affordable for some. Good job getting into an affordable in-state school!

Reactions: 2 users

Graduated in 2010. 285k, all federal. I opted for the graduated 25 years repayment plan, but focused on putting hard earned money to open 3 dental offices first 5 years out of school.