What's a fair salary?

Discussion in 'General Residency Issues' started by dnc79, Jul 23, 2006.

1. dnc79

dnc79 Junior Member

Given all the discussion regarding finances recently, I was wondering what people think is a fair salary for interns and residents? Obviously we are grossly underpaid given the number of hours we work, not to mention the debt that most have accrued to get to this level. If your average PGY1 is making ~$40K, what would most people think is reasonable given the above factors?

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Dunce

Dunce Senior Member

Medical Student

4. Vox Animo

Vox Animo Runs with Scissors

Medical Student

agreed. Make more people willing to go into medicine i would think. And i would care less about a smaller salary when i graduated. with 65 you could start on the loans. Not a sprint, but diffinaetly a little jog.

5. NinerNiner999

NinerNiner999 Senior Member

Attending Physician
    Actually, I think that 40k is perfect. All things considered, when you raise your salary above the federal loan deferrment rate, you have to start paying for your loans, which would mean that at 65k with a loan payment, you are spending 1000/month on loans (which after taxes will come out to less than 40k). Personally I think that lowering the COST of medical education to something closer to this planet would attract more applicants.

6. Faebinder

Faebinder Slow Wave Smurf

Attending Physician
    I agree with Niner unfortunately.... I'd like to still be able to defer and medical school future tuition and loans are on the rise...so the salary should be rise at the same rate so you don't lose that ability to defer.

7. NinerNiner999

Attending Physician
    And what's so bad about that ;)

8. Faebinder

Attending Physician

:cool: It's bad cause I agree to get paid less. Scary concept.

9. 8744

8744 Guest

Non-Student