What's it like to have a patient die?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

UOP123321

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
i know i am still an incoming freshman at undergraduate university, and this is my first semester.
And usually patients don't die at a dental office or during a dental surgery, but how does it feel when a patient dies and you was his dentist and you know that you could done something to save them ?

Members don't see this ad.

It's tough, but you move on. Happens all the time. We've all experienced it here.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Wait what? Is it common to have patients die in a dental office (Common as in like once every few years)?

Wait what? Is it common to have patients die in a dental office (Common as in like once every few years)?

I work in a hospital lab as a medical lab scientist and a few years ago a 24? yr male presented with and infection that turned into endocarditis after having his wisdom teeth pulled and subsequently passed away about a week later. It's very sad, but it does happen. Not a result of non-sterile dental equipment but more so of bacteria causing gingivitis entering the bloodstream during a procedure.

I'm pretty sure he was being sarcastic lol, but some do die from oral cancers and it's more common than one would think.

I work in a hospital lab as a medical lab scientist and a few years ago a 24? yr male presented with and infection that turned into endocarditis after having his wisdom teeth pulled and subsequently passed away about a week later. It's very sad, but it does happen. Not a result of non-sterile dental equipment but more so of bacteria causing gingivitis entering the bloodstream during a procedure.

Jeeze, that's harsh. Closest thing to an injury at a dental office I've seen was a lady who got a huge concussion after standing up too fast and falling post nitrous.