What's medical school like in Singapore?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Winter

Googleholic
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am a US student currently in my second year of undergraduate studies.

In the US, we are required to completed 4 years of undergraduate study and get a B.S. in something (doesn't really matter what...). Then we apply to medical school and attend that for 4 more years and get an MD.

What's it like in Singapore? How does a student just out of high school go about becoming a doctor? What universities offer a medical degree?

And how is the attitude of medical schools there toward international students? Do they offer scholarships of any sort?

Also, what is the job market like in Singapore for physicians coming from other countries?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi there!

Guess I should know quite a fair bit about the medical schools in Spore and the working environment for doctors here since I am a Singaporean.

First there is only one undergrad medical school in the National University of Singapore (NUS) and it only takes in around 250 - 300 students per year.
The course is five years long.

In order to cope with the doctor shortage in Spore, Singapore General Hospital (SGH) has collaborated with Duke University in the states to start a post graduate medical school and if I am not wrong it will begin its first intake of 100 students in 2007/2008. The course there will be for 4 years and is more research based.

Life here as doctor is not as good as countries like Australia and UK, the work is double while the pay is slightly less than counterparts elsewhere.
However, the Spore government is more than happy to receive foreign doctors as we indeed have a severe shortage here. It is a common sight to see doctors from Malaysia, India, bagaldesh working as a fellow in local hospital here. I guess the government is simply exploiting these ppl. :p