What's the problem with studying for the MCAT during school??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aalamruad

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
If I'm not mistaken, the MCAT scores are curved to a mean of 500 and some previously determined standard deviation, so taking the MCAT during the school year when you're also taking classes shouldn't really put you at a disadvantage because you're only competing against other test-takers who are also in school while studying/taking the test. If you take it at the end of summer, you're competing against test-takers who spent all summer studying and preparing for the test. Why, then, is it "common wisdom" to avoid taking the MCAT during the year if you have to study for it and take classes concurrently?

Members don't see this ad.

I studied while taking classes and working, scored a 35. So I'd say it was a valuable use of my time. I wouldn't study more than 6 months out though, I feel like that's the point where you get basically no return for your effort. I studied a little bit each day, maybe an hour at first, then 3 months out hit the MCAT with every free moment of the day. I'm not saying my strategy is particularly advisable, just that I did what many recommend against and it worked for me.

Reactions: 3 users
I studied while taking classes and working, scored a 35. So I'd say it was a valuable use of my time. I wouldn't study more than 6 months out though, I feel like that's the point where you get basically no return for your effort. I studied a little bit each day, maybe an hour at first, then 3 months out hit the MCAT with every free moment of the day. I'm not saying my strategy is particularly advisable, just that I did what many recommend against and it worked for me.

Mad Jack I liked your old avatar better :(

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
The MCAT is not curved, it is scaled.

Reactions: 1 users