When do you get INTERVIEWS?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FightingIrish01

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I am new to this, but when you apply say in around the summer after Junior year, when do you get your interviews? Are they around senior fall? Do they conflict with your classes? How do you manage it?

Also, does your senior spring GPA matter much once you get accepted to med school?

Members don't see this ad.

Hey guys,

I am new to this, but when you apply say in around the summer after Junior year, when do you get your interviews? Are they around senior fall? Do they conflict with your classes? How do you manage it?

Also, does your senior spring GPA matter much once you get accepted to med school?

People get interview invites as early as mid-July. If you apply early (summer) then you should have most of your interviews in the fall. Yeah you're going to miss class, so I tried to schedule an easy course load. Besides, its college and you really shouldn't be worrying about missing a day or 2 of class here or there. even if your profs. have attendance policies, they usually won't mind you missing for interviews.

your gpa your entire senior year shouldn't matter too much (unless you apply after you graduate...duh). just make C's or better. however some schools let you send in updates after fall semester, so the grades then might matter, but its not as important as your junior year grades.

When do you apply in the summer? If you are doing something significant (research, classes) that end in, say, July, should you wait to apply till after or just go ahead and apply as early as possible?

Members don't see this ad :)
When do you apply in the summer? If you are doing something significant (research, classes) that end in, say, July, should you wait to apply till after or just go ahead and apply as early as possible?