when one spouse has loans and the other doesn't

I

Incandescent

i am an intern who is in a mountain of educational debt from undergrad and medical school. this is for several reasons: 1. i was fortunate enough to get into great private schools for both and preferred them over my state schools, 2. my parents didn't have a whole lot of income relative to the amount of children they had, and 3. my parents weren't the most knowledgeable or responsible people when it came to financial matters. It's not like they were purposefully ignorant, but more like innocently ignorant. They didn't really learn how to properly invest and save until much later in their lives, and as a result they had nothing for my college/grad school education, wedding, etc.

I don't really blame my parents for this. Its hard for me to blame them for not saving since they always provided me with the necessities: clothing, food, shelter, love. I don't feel like I was entitled to get everything paid for by them. Money was always tight in our house but when you live like that, I guess you learn quickly that money does not have to make your world go round, and there are plenty of things that can keep you happy even if you have little fortune and struggle with debt.

That being said, there's no getting around the fact that when it came to finances, we were not savvy with what we had in terms of saving/investing. So, I assumed the debt of my education and worked a few jobs in college/med school to help with my basic needs.