When should i take the MCAT again?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cliquesh

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I decided to apply this year with a craptastic mcat score of 28. However, my gpa is pretty good (3.96), so i am hoping it will counter my mcat score some. Well, my question is, when should i consider taking the MCAT again? should i start now? or should i wait until i receive several rejections?

I applied to 12 schools (files complete in mid OCT) that i have a decent shot at getting accepted, and i haven't heard back from any of them yet, except for University of Maryland, who put me on Hold-for-interview.

So, when do you think I should give up hope for this year, and start studying? I studied on my own last time and i was considering taking a prep-course if i need to take it again. I would just be pissed if i did get accepted and i wasted $1500 on a prep-course.

Some advice would be nice. Thanks

By the way, i broke my right hand and arm a few weeks before my MCAT. So, it was pretty hard typing and using a mouse. In fact, i wasn't able to finish any of the sections because i was working so slowly. Yet i still got a 9v 10p 9b, so i am certain i could get a low to mid 30 if i took it again.

Members don't see this ad.

a 28 is not craptastic. I have two interviews with it, although that's all I can say without an acceptance. The latest I think you should take it is in June, no reason to take it earlier unless you want time for another retake. Post interview holds might last that late into the season and with the new 2 week turnaround, you may afford to take them that late.

I read in your profile that you wrote "...july 24th exam the worst one ever." hehe does that mean anything specific cuz that is the exam i took.

Members don't see this ad :)