When to Take DAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fan2342

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I need some help. So, I'm going to be a sophomore in college and I have 54 credits. I'm in a 3/4 dual admission program and will be applying in a year. I will also be able to graduate after junior year provided I take a heavy course load. I want to get into UCLA dental school so I want to apply as early as possible which I think is June next year. I am taking Orgo I/II, A&P I/II, genetics, microbio, and cell and molec this sophomore year. I will have to take the DAT either winter semester or in the summer.

When would you guys recommend I take the DAT? I can take it April and then retake in July of scores are not good or take in the summer but I'm not sure when because I want to apply as early as possible. Will April be too soon with classes and all and I'm still learning or what do you guys think?

Members don't see this ad.

Take it in the summer when you can have complete focus. If you're a fast learner study hard over winter break and take it then.

Members don't see this ad :)
The general consensus on this website is to take it when you're ready (so long as you have time to send your application out early). I would suggest taking it, at the latest, before spring of your senior year. You want to have the extra time in case you want to retake.