Where are you in your road to vet school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CatTech

VetTech/Pre-vet
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm new on SDN:), (although I have been on quite a few times to browse the threads) and am just curious where everyone is at in the all-important quest leading to vet school.

I'll start out...
I'm currently a veterinary technology student in my 2nd year. I was an english major for 2 years, because I was too chicken starting undergrad to go for what I really wanted. So after 4 yrs of school, I will only have an associates.

I knew I wanted to do pre-vet when I switched over to vet tech, but I thought the vet tech degree could help me out in the long run by opening up more vet experience opportunities for me and such. not to mention I get a lot of experience as part of my classes... and will already know a lot about restraint, hematology/routine clin path, placing catheters, surgical assisting, etc. (i even just did my first ever rectal palpation/ultrasound preg-check of a cow yesterday! lol) before even applying to vet school--rather than just having done restraint and shadowed others--not that there is anything wrong with that.

so I opted for the 2 extra years of school... even though that means I will be an undergrad for at least 6.5 to 7 years... (hope the admissions commitees of the future understand my reasoning... lol):confused:

(oh, and if any current vet students/vets/admissions people could give me their opinion on my decision to take the extra couple years to do vet tech, that would be GREAT! especially because i worry that my fear to pursue my passion in the first place may have put me crucially behind in getting experience for applying to vet school.)

anyway, enough about my experiences... where are you guys at in your journey? :D

Members don't see this ad.

Welcome CatTech!