Where to begin?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JHS84

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been lurking for a couple of months and have learned a ton from these forums, and I was hoping I could get some initial impressions about my situation. (Thank you in advance for reading yet another post like this!)

I graduated with a BA in English from an Ivy League uni in 2006. My final average was a pretty blah 3.26 total GPA after a terrible last year and a half owing to some family drama. I didn't take any of the pre-med prereqs.

After what felt like a pretty crappy end to college, I moved to Atlanta (the metro area closest to home), and last year I finished my MA in English at the state u here (3.9 grad GPA; would this even matter for an eventual medical school app? offset the 3.26?). For a long time I anticipated getting my PhD in English and teaching, but even before I had finished my MA, I became less and less enamored with the idea.

Long story short, over the past couple of years I've grown more and more excited by the idea of a career in medicine, and I'd like to get started on that journey on the right foot. I am applying to the post-bacc program at Agnes Scott College, and assuming I even get in (I had great SAT scores, pretty good GREs; I have no idea how competitive their admissions are. ack) and (hopefully) do a bang-up job, that will take care of the pre-reqs. But in terms of ECs and other stuff to beef up the rest of my eventual medical school application...it's hard to know where to start. I have no medical ECs, a few leadership extracurriculars from undergrad and grad schools, a current job I've had with a K-12 arts non-profit for a couple of years. I'm going to start looking into volunteer positions at local hospitals....maybe try to find a doctor to shadow (or is it too soon for that?).